Ntcheu elects new council chair

By Maston Kaiya – Mana.

Ntcheu District Council on Thursday elected Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) Councilor, Joshua Kwachera, of Kasinje Ward in Bwanje North Constituency as its new Chairperson.

He has replaced Councilor Jumbe Mambo of Gomani Chikuse Ward who served on the same position for two consecutive years.

Councilor Kwachera defeated two fellow Councilors with 11 votes while Ezra Mike of Livilidzi Ward and Godfrey Chinkhota of Likudzi Ward had 9 votes and 1 vote respectively.

In his acceptance speech, Kwachera, while thanking council members for his election, he said he would commit himself to enhancing development in the district.

“The members have total trust in me, hence electing me on the chairmanship position. I promise to work hard for the development of the council,” said Kwachera.

In his remarks, Ntcheu District Commissioner, Francis Matewere said he would work with the new leadership in all development matters.

He then commended the outgoing leadership by describing it as proactive and keen to keep the council going.

On the position of Vice council chairperson, the house elected Councilor Morris Maziya of Mphepozinai Ward who defeated Councilor Innocent Kamphwiyo of Ntonda Ward by 24 votes to seven (7) votes.

Ntcheu District Council has seven constituencies with 14 councilors.


Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button