Malawi leader appoints new electoral chief ahead of rerun

Malawi’s President Peter Mutharika has appointed a new electoral commission chairperson ahead of a presidential re-run.

The Constitutional Court had in February ordered a fresh presidential election be held within 150 days after annulling last year’s re-election of President Mutharika – a ruling upheld by the Supreme Court.

The former commission chairperson Jane Ansah resigned amid criticism by the opposition on how she managed the disputed election.

President Mutharika on Sunday appointed Justice Chifundo Kachale to head the commission.

He also appointed new commissioners, namely Arthur Nanthuru, Steve Duwa, Jean Mathanga, Linda Kunje, Anthony Mukumbwa and Olivia Liwewe.

MPs are due to meet to decide on the exact date of the election – one of the proposed dates is 23 June.

The new chairperson will have to deliver a credible presidential election as ordered by the courts.

A tweeter shared a photo of the incoming chairperson:

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button